Third Wheel (OOC)

I was talking to a friend in SL a few days ago, and she told me a story about an old, very good friend of hers who had become distant and in a new group of friends.  I understood how she felt, and I had written this when I felt that way.  

To her, if she reads this, know that you have a friend at the wagon in Cala Mondrago.

I actually have written music to this, but now I want better/ more fitting lyrics to the melody.  The picture is an old stock photo from amaie on deviantart called “Yesterday’s News”.

Friends try to help when you’ve been abandoned, but it’s never the same. Especially when you see your place even as best friend filled by another and you don’t know why you have become yesterday’s news.

Third Wheel

When the wheels are turning and the fires are burning
And you each have eyes for the other
I sit here alone as you both kiss and moan
The third in a pair of lovers

What does one do when your life’s ripped from you
and the seconds drag on like days
I’m no longer the fire that lights the desire
No longer the center of her gaze.

Everyone does say, come join me and play
Spend time with us and with me!
Tis so kind of you but I’m not sure that will do
tis a third wheel that I’d only be.

For when the wheels are turning and the fires are burning
And you each have eyes for the other
I sit here alone as you both kiss and moan
The third in a pair of lovers

My gift is ignored, I’ve lost lady and lord
Was I not a good enough treasure?
bowties and sashes and ashes to ashes
I gave of my fullest measure.

Days into days, filled with bleakness of grays
She stole my life and my laughter
She took my attention and my love not to mention
leaving me to linger hereafter.

For when the wheels are turning and the fires are burning
And you each have eyes for the other
I sit here alone as you both kiss and moan
The third in a pair of lovers

 

Leave a Reply

