One Voice

Well, I usually live under a rock and have no clue what is going on around me.  But I started reading up on this story this weekend, and it really bothered me.  I admit, I don’t know for a fact who is right and who is wrong, but people that I trust and that have looked into it more (and my own reading of the story) have given me an opinion.  And this blog is for that, my opinions.

To be clear, I don’t know either creator.  I don’t think I have ever owned a skin by either.  I am not a content creator, and this is obviously not a ‘popular fashion blog.’  I am only doing this because I feel it is right. 

Anyway, I am going to this event.  Like I said, I am not a creator, not much of a blogger, and don’t have much of a voice in SL.  But what voice I have, I will use here.  And… well, I’m a good shopper!  So, I can go and shop for something I believe in.

To find out more about the event:

http://huntsl.wordpress.com/2012/07/09/one-voice-a-fundraiser-for-gala-phoenix/

14 comments on “One Voice

  1. Darkley Aeon says:

    Hi, I just wanted to ask if you were Rrom in RL?

    • gypsylynn says:

      Unfortunately, I am not. As you can see by the clothing, I don’t follow Romani customs completely fully, but I try to celebrate the heritage with respect.

  2. Darkley Aeon says:

    The thing is, I’m Pavee, with Rrom cousins, and some of your posts come off as part of the whole ‘noble savage’ thing.

    • gypsylynn says:

      I understand, and apologize that you feel that way. However, you must remember that these posts (I assume you refer to the stories) are set in a fantasy / steampunk world so that in itself would set that kind of tone. In addition, if you are talking about the ‘becoming a lady’ issue, it was purely a device I needed to do so that I was not limiting myself in the SL roleplay environment. Its not a statement on the culture or anything, if you notice I pulled out of the culture and isolated my character on purpose.

      The fact is, I would rather have developed my character into a musician in SL but the environment is not conducive to that, so I adjusted. If you see a ‘noble savage’ plotline here, I apologize, but I just see a plot device to allow my character to do the other things she wants to do in SL and feel consistent about it.

      • gypsylynn says:

        Continuing on, I do apologize i I offended you or your friends, though I do not appreciate being castigated and reviled on Plurk. I thought we were having a discussion here where we both could learn.

        I have never made any efforts to depict true gypsy culture. As pointed out above, I took my character OUT of the culture precisely for those reasons. Also as pointed out above, the roleplay venue that I am in is Steampunk/Victorian which would have treated a gypsy as a ‘noble savage’. I think I have made it obvious all along that this blog is Second Life roleplay, not true culture.

        Anyway, I do apologize if you are offended, and I even understand it. I just wish that we could have talked here, in SL, or in private plurks instead of being made a public spectacle.

  3. Darkley Aeon says:

    i didnt name you in plurk

    • gypsylynn says:

      I understand. But it was easy to find me. My blog got a ton of hits after your Plurk. Listen, its done. I understand where you are coming from, and I truly hope that you understand where I am coming from.

  4. Darkley Aeon says:

    thanks, but can you muzzle your friend, who is now trolling my blog?

  5. Darkley Aeon says:

    This is her comment “I find your depiction of “civilized” camping to be highly unrealistic, and I’m giving serious “side-eye” to this blog. I’ll hve you know I have a nephew who is a camper in RL.”

  6. Darkley Aeon says:

    i responded on my blog, you know the one you trolled

  7. Now getting back to your actual post… 🙂

    One Voice is a wonderful effort. If folks can support it, and believe in the cause, I recommend they do so. I have been a fan of Gala Phoenix and her work since I joined SL over 6 years ago. I have also worn her skins since then. It’s heartbreaking to see what is being done to her.

  8. gypsylynn says:

    Thank you Gabi, and I agree. The good thing about all this is maybe more people saw this post then would normally, and if only one learned what is happening and decided to support One Voice, its worth it.

    Later, when I have more time, I will see if I can delete SOME of the above comments. Not the ones with disagreement/discussion but the more extraneous ones.

Leave a Reply

