The Twilight of My Sleep

Do you know that soft time in the mornings, between sleep and waking?

This is about love, in that time of the morning.  The time I call, The Twilight of My Sleep.

In that hazy twilight time

twixt sleep and gently waking

I reach for you and pull you close

My lips, yours for the taking.

Your winsome smile, your tousled hair

Love shining from your eyes

I reach for you and pull you close

Hearts bound by mystic ties.

Warm bodies touch, and then they meld

‘neath quilt and blankets rumpled

I reach for you and pull you close

Two lovers gently coupled.

A gentle sigh, a sweet caress

and fin’ly a soft moan

I reach for you to pull you close

But I find myself alone.

You’re in my heart, you’re in my dreams

but waking, you’re not there

I’d reach for you to pull you close

but ’tis another’s bed you share.

Now in my empty bed I lay

‘lone with my pillow and fears

I reach for it and pull it close

and stain it with my tears.

Days upon nights, you are not here

still your heart in mine I’ll keep

And I’ll reach for you and pull you close

In the twilight of my sleep.

Leave a Reply

